Fitness

You Just Need Discipline

It’s been awhile, but I’m finally back. If there’s ever a time where I’m not active on my blog, then it’s because I’m extremely busy with life and something has to give. Also, I consistently workout throughout the year even if I’m not posting or talking about. Why am I telling you this? Because it’s relevant to my topic for today, and that is why you need to have discipline if your goal for this year is to get into shape or maintain your physique as we soon transition into the warmer seasons. A lot of people make motivational videos and give motivational speeches, but the reality is that motivation is fleeting. One day you have it, one day you don’t. Discipline on the other hand will get you where you need to be.

What is discipline?

To put it into my own words, discipline is doing the things that you don’t want to do, even when you don’t want to do them. Maybe you’re an athlete and you don’t want to go to practice, but you grab your gym and go anyway because you know that it will make you better. Perhaps you’re a bodybuilder or fitness/physique competitor, and you hate having to meal prep but you cook and prepare you meals anyway because you know the importance of having your macros on point when you are wanting to put you body into an environment conducive to building muscle and burning body fat.

To make this more applicable to most of my readers, you’re probably someone that just wants look good and feel good about yourself. You probably don’t feel the need to get to single digit body fat levels and hop on the stage (although we all have different goals here), but it’s also important for you to have discipline because most likely you are the only person holding yourself accountable.

There’s no coach yelling at you for eating that pizza when you were supposed to eat chicken and rice.

There’s no event where you’re going to be half naked on a stage under bright lights with people judging your physique.

Of course these are extreme examples of external motivators, but the point is that motivation wears off.

I’m my own biggest fan, and I can motivate myself more than anyone else can. I still have days where I don’t want to go to the gym, especially now that gyms are pretty crowded due to the New Year. I go anyway, because I believe in either getting closer to my goals or getting further away from them. Staying the same is not a concept that I live by. You are going to also have times where you don’t feel like working out, but you should go anyway. The funny thing is that you usually get a burst of motivation when you begin your workout and your blood is pumping.

In my next post I will be giving tips on how to build discipline and the process that I went to in order to get my discipline “muscles” to the level that they are currently at. If this post resonates with you, or you simply want to show your support, like it, subscribe, and share this post with others that you think can use this information. I’m out.

 

 

Leave a comment